Download The-colossus-and-other-poems ebook PDF or Read Online books in PDF, EPUB, and Mobi Format. Click Download or Read Online button to THE-COLOSSUS-AND-OTHER-POEMS book pdf for free now.

The Colossus

Author : Sylvia Plath
ISBN : 9780307808820
Genre : Poetry
File Size : 83.23 MB
Format : PDF, ePub, Mobi
Download : 899
Read : 682

With this startling, exhilarating book of poems, which was first published in 1960, Sylvia Plath burst into literature with spectacular force. In such classics as "The Beekeeper's Daughter," "The Disquieting Muses," "I Want, I Want," and "Full Fathom Five," she writes about sows and skeletons, fathers and suicides, about the noisy imperatives of life and the chilly hunger for death. Graceful in their craftsmanship, wonderfully original in their imagery, and presenting layer after layer of meaning, the forty poems in The Colossus are early artifacts of genius that still possess the power to move, delight, and shock. From the Trade Paperback edition.
Category: Poetry

Sylvia Plath

Author : Linda Wagner-Martin
ISBN : 9781135035174
Genre : Reference
File Size : 45.5 MB
Format : PDF, ePub, Docs
Download : 314
Read : 986

This set comprises 40 volumes covering 19th and 20th century European and American authors. These volumes will be available as a complete set, mini boxed sets (by theme) or as individual volumes. This second set compliments the first 68 volume set of Critical Heritage published by Routledge in October 1995.
Category: Reference

The Collected Poems

Author : Sylvia Plath
ISBN : 0808595040
Genre : American poetry
File Size : 44.21 MB
Format : PDF, Mobi
Download : 458
Read : 283

This collection contains 224 poems, including a selection of her very earliest work. Also use: Crossing the River (1971), a volume that contains the poet's last works. Containing everything that celebrated poet Sylvia Plath wrote after 1956, this is one of the most comprehensive collections of her work. Edited, annotated, and with an introduction by Ted Hughes. Annotation. Containing everything that celebrated poet Sylvia Plath wrote after 1956, this is one of the most comprehensive collections of her work. Edited, annotated, and with an introduction by Ted Hughes.
Category: American poetry

Collected Poems

Author : Sylvia Plath
ISBN : 9780571264179
Genre : Poetry
File Size : 62.93 MB
Format : PDF, Kindle
Download : 565
Read : 555

This comprehensive volume contains all Sylvia Plath's mature poetry written from 1956 up to her death in 1963. The poems are drawn from the only collection Plath published while alive, The Colossus, as well as from posthumous collections Ariel, Crossing the Water and Winter Trees. The text is preceded by an introduction by Ted Hughes and followed by notes and comments on individual poems. There is also an appendix containing fifty poems from Sylvia Plath's juvenilia. This collection was awarded the 1981 Pulitzer Prize for poetry. 'For me, the most important literary event of 1981 has been the publication, eighteen years after her death, of Sylvia Plath's Collected Poems, confirming her as one of the most powerful and lavishly gifted poets of our time.' A. Alvarez in the Observer
Category: Poetry

Winter Trees

Author : Sylvia Plath
ISBN : 9780571342488
Genre : Poetry
File Size : 79.55 MB
Format : PDF, Docs
Download : 460
Read : 738

The poems in Winter Trees were written in the last nine months of Sylvia Plath's life, and form part of the group from which the Ariel poems were chosen. They reveal the poet at the height of her creative powers, exhibiting the startling imagery and dramatic play for which she became known. Published posthumously in 1971, this valuable collection finds its place alongside The Colossus and Ariel in the oeuvre of a singular talent. 'Nearly all the poems here have the familiar Plath daring, the same feel of bits of frightened, vibrant, indignant consciousness translated instantly into words and images that blend close, experienced horror and icy, sardonic control.' New Statesman 'A book that anyone seriously interested in poetry now must have . . . Sylvia Plath's immense gift is evident throughout.' Guardian
Category: Poetry

Collected Children S Stories

Author : Sylvia Plath
ISBN : 0571207561
Genre : Children's poetry, American
File Size : 26.66 MB
Format : PDF, ePub, Docs
Download : 840
Read : 1310

Three classic children's stories, Mrs Cherry's Kitchen, The Bed Book and The It Doesn't Matter Suit, collected together in one volume for the first time.
Category: Children's poetry, American

Great American Writers

Author : R. Baird Shuman
ISBN : 0761472401
Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
File Size : 88.65 MB
Format : PDF, ePub, Mobi
Download : 983
Read : 537

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction